The woes of a small car owner

Over the past week I have been moaning about how small my car is. My 1st car gave up the ghost last year after I more or less ran it until it fell to pieces. Me and my trusty Corsa were perfect allotment pals. With the seats down it could fit in 2 whole pallets or 10 dismantled pallets. It was great and definitely thief proof as no one would want the embarrassment of the dented old car being associated with them. In a pique of whimsy I purchased my dream car. It’s a 2 seater convertible and I love it . Unfortunately the boot is tiny and you cannot fit any decent  sized wood in it. Believe me I’ve tried. And herein lies my problem. There is a skip at work which has been steadily filling up with new pallets, all unblemished and sturdy slats. They’ve been calling my name and I can’t do a thing about it! I have become more sad by the day. 

To cheer myself up tonight I ventured out to the shops and bought myself 2  4 tier greenhouses and a bulb planter. I wanted some blood fish and bone or chicken pellets but they had none in stock. Just as well really as it was quite snug in the boot. I have broached the conversation about changing the car for a bigger one with the man but apparently that’s just nuts…..oh well!

5 thoughts on “The woes of a small car owner

  1. A 2-seater may be tiny, but with the roof down it really comes into its own! Mine’s an elderly Mx5 and carries 8ft decking, 220L daleks, 7ft trees, all without a care in the world. Can you get a pallet-breaker in the boot? In which case the pallets can come home with you, just in bits…:)

    Like

  2. Your post made me laugh – I recognise myself! Not the teeny car problem but the coveting pallets and other reusable items in skips. Beryl’s idea seems like a plan though:)

    Like

  3. I don’t have a car at all, which means I can only look at skips with no hope of ‘rescuing’ anything. There’s a bus that stops outside Wilkinsons and the the allotment gates, so I more often than not, have to do a couple of compost buying trips that way. I’ve had some interesting looks but it more or less works!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

