Satisfaction 

I’ve been struggling over the last 2 years with the idea of Aubergine gluts vs the reality of Aubergine droughts. When I first planted my original plants I thought they would be like tomatoes; wack them in a pot and they go forth and multiply without any intervention. Alas, they have turned out to be very fussy producers who churn out flowers aplenty but withold fruits unless you pay them daily attention and meet their specific requirements. I overwintered my original plants which dwindled to a poxy number, some of them getting frozen or greenflied to destruction along the way. The ones that survived I have been paintbrushing like mad alongside some new babies which seem to be overtaking the former generation in size and strength. All my efforts have paid off. The picture below shows the harvested ones and even a green one (second pic), variety unknown to be consumed at a later date. This harvest was sliced thinly, grilled with olive oil and put with houmous into some seeded flatbreads. Delish and satisfying in every bite.



In the top picture there are some non aubergine interlopers present. My squash and courgettes which were a rather sorry looking bunch last month have been busy maling fruit while the sun shines. Therr are more pics below of other squash. I did so well labelling them but used wooden labels which have now rotted so each meal will be a squash surprise this winter! 



The second squash has marks on it much to my annoyance. Unfortunately Mr fox and other wildlife have been more active on my plot in recent weeks and I have had my gloves chewed up, coat dragged from the greenhouse and blood fish and bone plastic container / box chewed open. The squash seem to have been pecked by a bird, hopefully they were a bit too enthusiastic with their slug eating and this was an accidental  by product but we shall see.


Finally this week, most satisfaction has been caused by the reddening of my first tomatoes of the year. I had a rather awful start to my toms, killing several sowings and had lamented my fate online. Im not expecting as big a crop as last year and in any case I’m about 4 weeks behind last year’s start date for harvesting but now the red has started I know I will be in stock for quite some time. 

Leave a Reply

